Elementary School Counselors

School Counselors provide a safe, nurturing environment to foster a trusting relationship with students where they can explore their feelings and experiences and learn problem-solving skills to find positive solutions to their personal issues.

All Counselors provide:

¨ Identification for students at risk for attendance problems

¨ Communication with teachers/parents and students on academic status

¨ Career planning development & exploration

¨ Coordinate teacher/parent conferences and parent workshops when requested 



Cara Bonfanti
School Counselor
Ben Franklin                                                       
717-703-1249
cbonfanti@hbgsd.k12.pa.us

Melanie Walsh
School Counselor
Ben Franklin
717-703-1339
mwalsh@hbgsd.k12.pa.us

Dawn Kaloz
School Counselor
Downey
717-703-1561
dkaloz@hbgsd.k12.pa.us

Eric Jackson
School Counselor
Foose
717-703-1296
ejackson@hbgsd.k12.pa.us

Jill Ruhl
School Counselor
Melrose
717-703-1445
jruhl@hbgsd.k12.pa.us

Donzail Harvey
School Counselor
Scott
717-703-4568
dharvey@hbgsd.k12.pa.us